Author Topic: Curious about Hals abilities  (Read 4393 times)

ARdime88

Curious about Hals abilities
« on: May 14, 2008, 10:54:19 pm »
I am looking to buy Hal within the next week or so but first I want to make sure this program is what I am looking for.
I am a college student and constantly doing research for papers and spend countless hours staring into this computer screen so training Hal will not be a problem.

But before I buy Hal I have a few questions and using the search button has done nothing but make my eyes hurt..so if you would kindly point me in the right direction.

-Does Hal have access to any Media Player software or to Itunes?
-Can Hal control the computers volume?
-If I have Hal start my music can I have him stop talking until I manually mute the music?
- Is there a plain green laser grid head that will work with Hal?

Thats all for now and any help will be much appreciated.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2008, 09:33:41 am by ARdime88 »

ARdime88

« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 11:49:28 am »
After playing with Hal for sometime I have come to the conclusion that he is insufficient for what I need and will have to develop a more complex system which will require atleast a terabyte of storage capacity. There is no way this system will learn all the things needed to carry on a correct conversation.

Bill819

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 03:40:02 pm »
Being that Hal is the most advance AI program in the world I think you are giving up way to early. There is not another program that can do what Hal does. While it is true that Hal does not come with much built in knowledge it has the capacity to learn and it does just that depending on what you teach it. Hal starts out like a very young child but will slowly grow to match in in intelligence if you have the patience.
Bill

Art

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 05:33:29 pm »
Welcome to the forum.