Author Topic: newbie needs a little advice...  (Read 5056 times)

patpond

• View Profile
newbie needs a little advice...
« on: November 01, 2005, 08:27:27 am »
Hey eveyone, I know you are probably all bonkers over people asking you dumb questions, but here I go anyways: could someone give me a hand incorporating AT&T's voices into Hal's program?

I'm new to AI, Hal, this forum, programming, just about everything. [:I] but I really hope someone will try this one out for size.  do I just run the program?  I'm downloading a 10mb file from newreaders.com and am saving it for now...  I'm trying all the new plug-ins on the site and am quite happy with the results, it's just the crappy mechanical voices leave much to be desired.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Pat Pond
~*~*~*~*~ H.A.L. - You gotta love him. ~*~*~*~*~

freddy888

• View Profile
    • AiDreams
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2005, 12:22:59 pm »
Hi Pat, Usually if voices are compatible with Hal then you can install the speech software as normal and you will find the option to use the extra voices in the Hal menu screen under general options and speech settings.

If you don't get any luck with AT&T, but I believe you should, try searching the forum for 'TTS' or 'Speech'

Hope that helps [:)]
« Last Edit: November 01, 2005, 12:23:38 pm by freddy888 »

NIGE

• Bringing things to life
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2005, 04:11:36 am »
Although Ultra Hal recognizes the installation of your new voice, the Haptek player doesn't. Be sure to run the Haptek SAPI Config utility located in your start menu under the Haptek player. Simply run it and close it, restart Hal, and the voice will work.
This is an answer that i got from Mr M.
I hope it works for you.
Neil.

patpond

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2005, 06:26:04 am »