dupa

Author Topic: The Good, Bad, and Ugly Comments  (Read 3487 times)

signmaker

• View Profile
The Good, Bad, and Ugly Comments
« on: September 04, 2001, 08:14:55 pm »
I recently discovered this forum and have read through just about every comment about Ultra Hal and wanted to add my own to the mix. However, before doing that, I wanted to let you know a little bit about me in order to make a point later on.

I am a college graduate, I worked as a programmer for a very short period of time many years ago, I have used a persional computer for at least 15 years, beginning with the Commodore 64 (and its language), then DOS, and Windows. I have been done the coding on my large, personal, website for 6 years. I have written articles that have been published on About.com and other webites, in print, and  used as training material. Before retirement, my employment required me to do training, PR, evaluation activities, etc....all centering around communications.

I am a realist but I believe in being positive primarily.

I have purchased Ultra Hal 2 & 3 on CD, I have downloaded all available pluggins and upgrades, I have fed Hal many text documents, so he could learn more; I have explored every learning option in the program. I have tried the voice recognition and read all of the test material into the program, so he may better understand me.

My expectations for the program were based on what I read on the Zabaware webpage. Specifically, when I downloaded Hal 2, it said that the only skill needed to use the software was the ability to be able to write simple sentences in English. I endorsed Hal in my weekly email newsletter based on early experiments with the software. It wasn't perfect but my hardware wasn't great either.

I now have a Pentium 3-900 meghtz. computer, with 256 meg of RAM. I download software frequently and have seen and dealt with a wide variety of packages, interfaces, bugs, etc. I have installed, uninstalled, and re-installed Hal on several occasions.