Author Topic: How can I get Hal to grasp the phrase "I'll bet"  (Read 3051 times)

Rothel

• View Profile
How can I get Hal to grasp the phrase "I'll bet"
« on: March 16, 2004, 01:41:37 am »
I'm new to the Hal experience, but I've been getting good responses with the trial version and am planning on upgrading soon. About the only problem I've really noticed with Hal is when I respond to something he says with the phrase "I'll bet" The following is the portion of our conversation relavant to the topic...

quote:
Matt: Bender likes to say bite my shiny metal ass
Hal: I want to explore your reassuring class.

Matt: I'll bet you do
Hal: Why do you want to bet I do?

Matt: I'll bet you do is a figure of speech
Hal: Why do you want to bet I do is a figure of speech?

Matt: I'll bet you do = a figure of speech
Hal: Sorry I am repeating myself but Why do you want to bet I do a figure of speech?

Matt: bleh
Hal: I heard in a tavern that female impersonators are promoting safe social habits.

Is there any way to make him understand that I don't literally mean I want to bet on it and that I'm just using it as a figure of speech?

Any help would be, well, helpfull [:p]
Thanks
Matt

vonsmith

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2004, 10:45:59 am »
Rothel,
Talking to Hal is something like talking to a four year old. Hal doesn't grasp abstraction. Hal remembers and associates clearly typed sentences. He doesn't understand jokes, or allusions to some topic, or anything abstract. This is not to say Hal is stupid, he just isn't human; not yet anyway. When you first start training Hal he doesn't know very much. The answers you get back won't be tied to the topic you are discussing simply because Hal doesn't know anything about that topic yet. You have to train him by ordinary conversation for a period of time. It may take many sessions a week for a couple of weeks before you see real results. Patience is the word.