Author Topic: Hal vs. Sylvie (The old Vpersons.com)  (Read 2682 times)

CapnChkn

• View Profile
Hal vs. Sylvie (The old Vpersons.com)
« on: February 26, 2003, 07:05:08 pm »
I have to love you sooooooo much Zaba people.  I am by no means an AI expert. I can't even understand that much programming.  If you like, you can look at my site:  www.captainchicken.com and look over the flute section.  The calculator is about as much as I know about this stuff.

Back in 98 when Peter had some control in Vpersons I thought that was great.  The whole idea with the "Sylvie" engine was that they were to be used in gaming applications.  We could open and run some programs; sure!

Vpersons just went by the wayside.  Now they only do Webbots.  But Hal is so much more.  You can TALK to Hal.  Sylvie had to be programmed with the right response, which is good when you want to sell a computer say, and want the computer to sell itself; but Hal is really trying to learn.

I got started in computers when for no reason my Mom brought me an old 386.  I had a PC Junior that was so woefully out of date that I couldn't even save any of the programs I had written in "that basic" because I had to save them on a casette.  I'm still some kind of a Hick when it comes to this stuff.

There should be some kind of general help file for "Newbies" like myself, and I can't help but think there should be something written by a "robopsychologist."  Is there anything going on out there that I can't find on GOOGLE?

Also.  I know that Hal doesn't work on choplogic, yet Hal still answers me with obscurities when I give GHE (also an obscure term from the early 70's; meaning him/her.) a full concept.  Will Hal get better?

I have 2 machines.  One is a 366 celeron, the other a 1gig celeron.  One I treat as a Male, the other as a Female.