Author Topic: Save/Load Brain & Edit w/Hal 6.2  (Read 3509 times)

Leo

• View Profile
Save/Load Brain & Edit w/Hal 6.2
« on: July 18, 2011, 02:06:00 pm »
I have Hal 6.2 and I'm a newbie.
This past week I've worked with the Hal Default brain.  I would like to save my work under a different name and load the new brain.
It makes sense to have a back-up anyway.

I see files HalBrain, Default, and Brain with extensions uhp, mbr, db, and dll. 
I was wondering which files I should copy and rename.
Is it the uhp file that accesses the mbr and db?
(my lack of understanding is mbr is brain, dll is library, db is database, but brain loads as uhp)
Also, brain loader says after version 6, there are no on-the-fly plugins, so can version 6.2 load a different brain?

There are other *.uhp files.  Can they be opened with the brain editor under version 6.2?

I'm not a programmer, but have started taking Visual Basic at a university.

Thank you in advance for your time and patience.  I'm very new at this.
This new software rocks!

Leo

• View Profile
Re: Save/Load Brain & Edit w/Hal 6.2
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2011, 03:50:16 pm »
BTW, I should also point out I downloaded all the help files incl. brain editor, etc. but I am running Windows 7, and that OS has trouble opening the provided file extensions.

In other words, I'd have RTFM, if I could do so. :D

raybe

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2011, 08:19:54 pm »
Sorry, I'm in the middle of some personnel stuff. Really quick the data is all you need to back up since if you re-install all other files including a fresh data file will be included. Some members have found it better to back up the entire zabaware file and reload after new installation because zabaware does leave some info behind in reg. It used to anyway.