dupa

Author Topic: Does the program I am looking for exist?  (Read 15530 times)

concretefire

• View Profile
Does the program I am looking for exist?
« on: December 01, 2008, 03:06:07 pm »
Hello all,
My name is Mike. Let me start out by saying I am a complete and utter newbie. I have read quite a few threads, but when I say I am a newbie, I mean, I know ZERO about this stuff. AIML? START? [?]

Now, let me also say that I am a whiz kid / (36yo) at computers and just built a new system:

Intel P45 chipset
Quad Core 6600 2.4ghz Overclocked to 3.6 ghz under water
8 gb of DDR2 Ram @ 1000mhz
Ati Radeon 4870 GPU.

The reason I tell you this is so you know which side of the fence I am on. I built this system specialy for graphics. And almost entirely around the idea of doing "graphics" work using Poser Pro and rendering scenes and animations. So to think I know nothing about computers or advanced programs would be wrong. I just know nothing about AI+computers.

Here is all I know, and so far I don't like it.
Ultra Hal seems to be the best learning software that I have found. I don't really want a bot that chats for no reason. I want something that I can use to verbalize commands to my computer. Such as "open winamp please" or "search for xyz"...etc...
Hal seems to fit the bill.
However, that's just half of it for me. Being graphics oriented, from what I have seen, the plugins/haptek/homeade/custom made skins are just not acceptable. (for me) In fact, they're just horrible.

I don't want a visable movie player or "box" on my screen. I want something like this: http://www.vrconsulting.it/vhf/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=906
***** scroll down almost the way ****

Now THAT's acceptable graphics. But I want more. I want to be able to create my own characters, high rez, like the above link. I don't think there is a way to connect a character to hal like the above. Am I wrong?