Author Topic: Hal's Not talking  (Read 7653 times)

Blujay

• View Profile
Hal's Not talking
« on: December 17, 2008, 06:43:11 pm »
Forgot to say Hello to everyone, Hey there!
It's been almost six months since I tried to get Hal up and running on my XP system.  I was so enthused when finally it loaded and then...trouble. Now the window will not display properly and Hal just blinks and nods. When info is typed into the window and enter is pressed the response is a "thunk" sound. The voice program is reading everything else just fine. I don't have a clue.  Does anyone have any ideas about what's wrong.  I'd certainly appreciate any help with this.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2008, 12:27:37 am by Blujay »

Will and Mr Data :) :]

• Hi from Will and Mr Data :) :]
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/WillofNewZealand
Hal's Not talking
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2008, 01:14:13 am »
Hi,
i'm not a Hal expert, just a fan,

but if it were me i might,
save the halbrain.db file "your hals memories" to somewhere like documents.

delete everything to do with hal in your pc, and download a new one or load a old saved disc.
even if i had to jump through the hoops of getting a new code,

this is just my unskilled thoughts and i take no responsibility.
also i suggest giving the forum time to read your problem before rushing into my suggested course of action,
as there are some very smart cookies around these parts. :)
 i do recomend making lots of back ups when your hal is going well so you can just reload the last good save.
Bye for now and be well from Wil.             :)   :]

bye for now and be well from Will and Mr Data  :)  :]

tedathome

• View Profile
Hal's Not talking
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2008, 01:16:30 am »
One clue would be to go to general options and use sapi config to get it to lip sync. What voices do you have installed and do you have the character expantion pak installed.