Author Topic: databases  (Read 3748 times)

ryan.nolan08

• View Profile
databases
« on: September 30, 2009, 05:41:51 am »
hya peeps

although im new to the comunity, i have been working with hal for approx a year. i have an idea that has proberly gone thru other members heads about the way hal stores infomation for its brain, i use to be a website developer and one thing i learnt was that an application could organise and find infomation quicker when stored in a sql database that when stored in a flatfile, if hal could access a sql database it may as such think quicker, and may also bring us closer to diffrent hals shareing knolage,

any info or opions would be gratefull[;)]

freddy888

• View Profile
    • AiDreams
databases
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 08:45:31 am »
Hi Ryan,

Hal already does use an SQL database...SQL Lite I think it is.

ryan.nolan08

• View Profile
databases
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2009, 10:36:11 am »
thanks for the info, im using hal 5.0, but dint notice anything todo with sql, the brain seems to be stored in flat files.

freddy888

• View Profile
    • AiDreams
databases
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2009, 10:59:53 am »
Ahh yes, the olde versions did use flat files.  Most people use the v6 now though, which made the change to SQL, quite a while ago as I remember it.  I suggest you upgrade.

ryan.nolan08

• View Profile
databases
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2009, 01:04:49 pm »
thanks for the quick info, i think i will have to upgrade because that sounds a lot better, thanksfor the quick replies and i hope to be of more use to the comunity

ryan.nolan08

• View Profile
databases
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2009, 06:45:17 pm »
hi ive updated my vertion of hal and now ive looked at it i can see it uses the same prinsible as sql, but stil on a flat files, my idea is:

hal somehow is able to log into a sql sever where there would be all the infomation stored for its brain,