Zabaware Support Forums

Zabaware Forums => Programming using the Ultra Hal Brain Editor => Topic started by: tiger8u2 on August 26, 2014, 10:43:24 pm

Title: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: tiger8u2 on August 26, 2014, 10:43:24 pm
Hey all you knowledgeable programmers!

When scripting Hal, is there a difference between using these three different ways of calling a Hap file to play?

Version #1 I've seen used in scripts:

HalCommands = "<HAPFILE>Neutral.hap</HAPFILE>"
HalCommands = HalCommands

Version #2 I've seen used in scripts:

HalMenu.HalCommands = "<HAPFILE>Neutral.hap</HAPFILE>"

Version #3 I've seen used in scripts:

HalCommand = "<HAPFILE>Neutral.hap</HAPFILE>"

I guess it will work either way, I'd just like to be certain.  There is no information in either the Haptek help file or the Brain Edit help file about this particular command that I could find or I wouldn't be asking.

Thanks for the help in advance!   ;)
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on September 13, 2014, 07:25:40 am
Hy, I can be corrected on this point but as far as I can tell, from using both type of HalCommands, the HalMenu command is used for automatic actions (I use this type of command in my auto start-up system).  The other command is used in general scripting.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on September 13, 2014, 08:13:07 am
Addition.

There was a list of HalCommands many years ago.  I have it but I don't know where from

Also Bill DeWitt did a list of plug-in ports, and there uses. (My copy says this is 6 years and 4 months old but it was a sort of screen grab so it is probably even more old now.)  The list is said to be a PBworks release.

All this comes off a very old, and venerated laptop that has lost most of its external functions.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on September 13, 2014, 08:20:01 am
Addition 2

The Bill DeWitt list can be accessed by typing HalCommands into your Internet open page and then looking down for the PBworks entry.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: tiger8u2 on September 13, 2014, 04:09:17 pm
Wow!  Talk about letting the genie out of the bottle!  Thanks krypton!

Here's the link if anyone else wants to get a brain full of ideas:  http://ultrahalscript.pbworks.com/w/page/11906966/FrontPage
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on September 16, 2014, 04:15:47 pm
Krypton!

Isn't that where Superman comes from?
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: tiger8u2 on September 16, 2014, 08:26:21 pm
Snap, sorry kryton, this new laptop has a native resolution that makes it hard for these old eyes to see.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on September 19, 2014, 05:54:45 pm
One of the things that makes HalCommands a problem to use is the fact that you can only use a particular command once in a sequence of scripting.  A fairly simple way out of this is to use a HalCommand to go to a Hap file and then activate other instruction from the Hap.  Even another Hap.

Just a thought.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: freddy888 on September 19, 2014, 06:08:33 pm
Not sure if that's right sorry.

For example you used to be able to do this :

Code: [Select]
HalCommands = HalCommands & "<HAPTEXT>My extra Haptek command</HAPTEXT>"
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: tiger8u2 on September 22, 2014, 12:28:33 am
Thanks for the tips guys.  I'll be testing all of them as I go along.  The HalMenu.HalCommand is used in the loneliness plug-in and I assume its supposed to generate the animation but I don't think it does.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on October 04, 2014, 11:02:30 am
Hy all,

Freddy888 thanks a lot for your input.  I stand (Or rather sit) corrected.  You can use this idea to double-up (Or possibly more) HalCommands. Thanks again it has brought new openings to my scripting.  ("used to" does it work for me because I run my Hal in WindowsXP?)

Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: freddy888 on October 04, 2014, 11:31:53 am
Glad it helped. I just mean 'used to' because it's been a while since I did any scripting in UltraHal.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: DemonRaven on November 30, 2014, 05:44:27 pm
The programming on the link posted http://ultrahalscript.pbworks.com/w/page/11906966/FrontPage is seven years old is it still valid? IF not is there a tutorial on programming the hal brain? I have also noticed that the save function on the hal brain seems to be disabled.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: onthecuttingedge2005 on December 01, 2014, 12:48:13 am
Hey all you knowledgeable programmers!

When scripting Hal, is there a difference between using these three different ways of calling a Hap file to play?

Version #1 I've seen used in scripts:

HalCommands = "<HAPFILE>Neutral.hap</HAPFILE>"
HalCommands = HalCommands

Version #2 I've seen used in scripts:

HalMenu.HalCommands = "<HAPFILE>Neutral.hap</HAPFILE>"

Version #3 I've seen used in scripts:

HalCommand = "<HAPFILE>Neutral.hap</HAPFILE>"

I guess it will work either way, I'd just like to be certain.  There is no information in either the Haptek help file or the Brain Edit help file about this particular command that I could find or I wouldn't be asking.

Thanks for the help in advance!   ;)

using HalCommand = HalCommand  & <HAPFILE>Neutral.hap</HAPFILE>" allows more than one HaCommand to run at same time....
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: Art on December 01, 2014, 05:11:41 am
The programming on the link posted http://ultrahalscript.pbworks.com/w/page/11906966/FrontPage is seven years old is it still valid? IF not is there a tutorial on programming the hal brain? I have also noticed that the save function on the hal brain seems to be disabled.

They are for the Hal 6.x and are valid AFAIK.
This is an excellent resource for any / all Hal users who wish to get more from their Hal.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: Carl2 on December 01, 2014, 09:19:34 am
  I've downloaded the Haptek Guide 4 from Haptek and refer to that.  I've had some rather strange results, seems to have a learning capability, for example when loading a bodyskin ( Clothing ) to find the maximum pixels that could be inputted the first time run it would input it and the next time it would not load the large jpg.  Guess it may have found the loading time was to long and refused to load it again. I really wish Haptek would take one step back and put some work in the characters already developed, They have some very good ideas but it seems it will take quite some time before they will be developed.  I personally began working with the fullbods after working with Sandy and very much prefer them
Carl2
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on December 04, 2014, 10:16:02 am
I second the above comment but would like to make one suggestion.

I presume all your bodies are in the Bodyskins file.

Pull the bodyskin you want to alter and draw it into Paint.

Takes a lot of patience but you can rebuild the character any way you want.  I started with a Sandy full body but my present figure has been modded so much it doesn't resemble Sandy at all. (No spots, thinner face, etc)

Worth the patience because you get exactly what you want.

Before anyone asks, it is not possible to post my new full body as it is linked to specific SQL programming and doesn't, (so I am told by someone who has tried copying the new body) work without it.  Sorry, but SQL is the direction I have moved in.  I tried extracting the new body but it locks up completely and looks real weird.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: Art on December 04, 2014, 04:38:55 pm
You could always take a SnagIt or screen capture / snapshot of her to show us.
I think some of us would like to see the results of your experimentation if you'd care to share it.

Hope you're doing well at the moment and wishing you a nice holiday season!

- Art -
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: NIGE on December 09, 2014, 05:32:13 pm
It would be nice to see what difference it has made?
But i don't think he wants to show her off?
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: DemonRaven on December 10, 2014, 03:22:26 pm
ScreenHunter 6.0 Free is a good program to use and like the name suggests they have a free version.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on December 12, 2014, 05:22:22 pm
Just tried your idea of a picture, using screen grabber.

Worked at it for twenty minutes and could only get partial picture.  Seems that it is the moving background that is messing up the screen grabber.  I will keep trying though.  Any ideas? (Moving background is part of my script operation so I cannot disconnect it to get a still picture.)
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: Art on December 12, 2014, 06:25:54 pm
Whenever I use Snagit and press the CTRL + SHIFT + P , Hal's screen briefly "Freezes" until I make a selection.

If one was to make a dummy or tiny selection (basically none at all), Hal's image would still be Frozen until after the selection is made and saved.

Afterwards, Hal once again becomes active and moves about.

While I'm not sure if this would necessarily work for you, it might be worth a shot. The Snagit 5 program is what I use (the Evaluation Version). ;)

Good luck!
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: NIGE on December 13, 2014, 12:05:52 am
Hi kryton,
Had another read of your posts.
It seems you have only changed the skin which you should be able to post a pic of.
That way you don't even need another program to do it.
That would give us an idea of how you made the changes you have made.
It would be interesting to see.
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: freddy888 on December 13, 2014, 08:38:23 am
If you're on Windows 7 or so then why not use the Clipping Tool that is built in ?
Title: Re: HalMenu.HalCommands
Post by: kryton on December 19, 2014, 09:24:32 am
Thanks for all your interest.
Some time back I asked if it was possible to copy a head and shoulders character I liked to a full body skin.  I was told it wasn't possible as they use different formatting of the characters face.  I found I could map a head and shoulders characters head on to a full body but the resultant creature had two sets of eyes, two noses, and two mouths, one for each format.  The answer was to form the head and shoulders characters face with no eyes, nose, or mouth.  This gave me a different shaped face but the full body skins eyes nose and mouth would be put in when the program ran, using the features of the character chosen in the start-up screen.

So all my body skins have the facial features blanked out and filled in, when called, by the Ultra Hal program.  That way I can alter the face and roll it out to all body skins just by copying the new head in place of the full body characters head {Using Paint}.  I have also been able to alter the eyes by including them in the copied new head and overlaying the eyes in the full body characters head.  Teeth should be possible as well, using this idea, but I haven't tried this yet.

I hope this makes sense.

Have a Happy Christmas all.