Author Topic: voice training doesn't work  (Read 2959 times)

DeathHawk13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
voice training doesn't work
« on: May 07, 2012, 12:20:11 pm »
I think I use the voice program that came with Hal.  Its called Microsoft speech recognizer 8.0 for windows.  When I try to do voice training, it only has tutorial as an option.  I did the tutorial a few times, but it doesn't seem to help.  I would like to do actual training, but can't seem to find that option anywhere.  The Hal help folder said I could find that option in my control panel, but its not there.  I even tried to search for this program on my computer, but it doesn't seem to exist, yet Hal says its there.  I'm tired of Hal not understanding me.

sybershot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 787
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2012, 02:42:05 am »
Hal uses the speech engine that is installed in the version of windows you have. I to do training from within windows itself not Hals menu, I turn on speech recognition, do the training and then do further training by opening up wordpad, read a few lines from a book, and use speech only to make any corrections. The more you train in a text editor like wordpad the better you speech engine and/or Hal will understand you.


DeathHawk13

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2012, 01:18:35 pm »
I understand what you are saying, but I cant find voice recognition on windows.  Its like my computer doesnt actually have one.  None of my word programs like microsoft word or word pad have any type of voice recognition.  Im starting to think I will need to dig deep in my wallet and buy a program like that IBM program I see advertised on hal's web site.  In the meantime, I am typing to Hal and am getting used to it

Art

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3221
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2012, 04:24:57 pm »
What version of Windows are you using?

If Windows 7 then go to the Control Panel and look for Speech Recognition, Select it then choose a topic that either interests or applies to your situation.

SR has come a long way but you need to be in a relatively quiet location with as little background noise as possible and the use of a decent noise cancelling microphone is highly recommended.

If you can get through a few tutorials then you will have a better chance of Hal understanding your input. Speak normally and clearly as if giving directions to a 5 year old child. Be patient but remember that a lot of this technology is still not an exact science (yet).
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

albertlouis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2012, 01:37:18 am »
Yeah,  actually window 7 has speech recognition and it doesn't include it in their earlier versions. I read somewhere about this. Where can we find this in window 7 ?

Art

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3221
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2012, 04:51:46 am »
albertlouis,

See and read my previous posting. I've even included an image.
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

Fandycotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2013, 05:53:48 am »
Is this the same for Windows 8?
"Each person must live their life as a model for others."              valuepointdistribution.com reviews

Art

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3221
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2013, 07:35:09 am »
I wouldn't know but you should look in your Control Panel for Voice or Speech or you could even type it in your search window or you might just press F1.

I don't use Windows 8.
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

Carl2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1201
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2013, 08:24:35 am »
DeathHawk13
  I have window 8 and there is no control panel shown, I did a search for it and put a shortcut on the desk top.
The speech recognition is in the control panel
Carl2
 

Art

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3221
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2013, 03:37:06 pm »
Well, Windows 7 doesn't have a Control Panel shown either but if one knows how to get it then problem solved, I would imagine. ;)
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

raybe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1013
    • View Profile
Re: voice training doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2013, 05:40:19 pm »
The easiest way I have found features be it apps or files is using the good old search at the start button for Windows 7. I have often been surprised at some similarities of programs. May not be the best answer but it works fine for me most of the time even when located in Windows directory.

Thanks,
raybe