Author Topic: Drawing a Line  (Read 4518 times)

WholyChao

• View Profile
Drawing a Line
« on: December 09, 2002, 09:57:47 pm »
[This potential function brings up a philosophical question – Should a computer program have the ability to experience and manipulate information within the computer?  I believe that an application should be able to manipulate information in other application.  Giving an application this control will allow it to be a more effective tool.]

Program. Drawing a line

Process.  To use qualifiable information – in the form of speech – to have Hal move beyond opening a computer program and manipulate information within another program.

Steps necessary to accomplish goal.

1. Open Paint. (or any other program – paint is simple)
2. Select “Line” command.
3. Draw a line.

Opening programs is simple for Hal.  This function is a wonderfully useful tool.  I do not fully understand how Hal opens a program.  I cannot find the function in the code.  I am just learning VB, that said.

It is possible for Hal to “see” the code of a program in ways that a human user never could - as I brought up in my last post, The Physics of Sight.  Hal could “see” the code for visual outputs such as a button, a toolbar or even a desktop by recognizing the purpose of each block of code as it is sent to output devices (screen and speakers).

Once Hal can recognize and interpret the data that an application outputs to user the next task is for Hal to simulate the response the application expects from the user and input that response to the application.  If Hal could supply input directly as code, instead of through the more standard inputs (i.e. keyboard or mouse) the application would continue running as if a user were running the application.