Author Topic: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say  (Read 7663 times)

Calhoone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« on: May 09, 2016, 03:36:11 pm »
Does anyone know of a way to have hal repeat what I say without having to say "repeat what i said"?  I'm exploring making a video of sorts using Hal. What I want to be able to do is pretty much have him speak for me live and on the fly. I want to be bale to stop hal from responding to what I say and simply repeat everything until I want him to comment.

Any of you fine folks know if this is possible? I spent a few hours reading through various forum threads here to no avail.
 

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3847
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 06:59:14 pm »
If you really didn't need to use Hal (with avatar for instance), consider just using the Hal Reader. Type in what you want Hal to say or maybe what you will read first, then press Enter and let the Hal Reader read the same thing aloud.
Just a thought as even the Blank Brain will still generate some responses from the core / internals.
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

Calhoone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2016, 04:00:54 am »
Unfortunately, for my idea to work, I need to be able to have an avatar speak what I am saying.  I'm wondering if one of the old GRETTA plugins could be modified to do what I want. I think it's the sing a song one or something. 

What I am trying to do is create a Twitch personality to stream video games and some other creative works I want to use.  I was hoping to have Hal be on screen talking to viewers for times I don't feel like being on camera. This is the channel I have created for it.  https://www.twitch.tv/overseeralpha

The two things I need to make this work is,
1) Being able to have hals avatar speak what i say in response to viewers live.
2) Get a plugin made that takes hals written responses and puts it into an IRC chat program or using the twitch api to chat with viewers.  So when I am doing the talking myself on stream, Hal can also chat with people.

There are all sorts of bots created for Twitch streams that can moderate chat channels and do all sorts of task for the streamer available. I have yet to see one that can actually talk with them.  I was hoping to do this way and promote Ultra Hal/Zabaware on the channel in hopes of driving more people here. I've been enjoying Hal for so many years now, I just want others to have the same fun with it as well.
 

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3847
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2016, 07:24:25 am »
Quite an interesting project. Have you contacted Robert for some possible feedback / pointers, etc.?

Good luck!
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2016, 03:09:46 pm »
Your biggest purpose in life is to figure out what doesn't work.

peace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2016, 01:39:40 am »
You could do this by having Hal listen for a certain symbol /:;()$& ect
Then just have his response be your original sentence

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3847
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2016, 02:11:37 pm »
The older product that was called UltraHal Representative could be somewhat specifically "tailored" to respond to visitors to a web site as I recall. Can't say with certainty whether it might work for your purposes, whether you could still obtain a copy of it AND whether or not it would work with your current version of Windows (assume Windows 8 or 10).

My friend set it up as a "host" for his site about dog products and services that he sold. It handled pretty much all the user inquiries and he seemed pretty happy with it. The program was sort of a limited "expert system" about his products and services, informative, polite and to the point.

He has long since moved away to another state so I don't know whether he is still using it or not. Just a thought for you.

BTW, That Overseer / Twitch site has a Play window but it does not play when clicked. If registration or signup is required then it's not for me. Sorry about that.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2016, 02:13:40 pm by Art »
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

PassionTriak

  • Guest
Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2016, 12:41:24 pm »
They do not tell you that 720p live streaming is only available when shooting 30p codecs...........perfect........

Paul

cyberjedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • The Mighty Hal Machine
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2017, 12:59:45 pm »
CalHoone:

Hey man there are 02 issues that have to be addressed here , Input/Output

Ok , here we go.

This only works on win07 and up. Clip function is used.
Basic easy work here fellas.....

Its a hand off, what we call code forwarding.

Rem Type=Plugin
Rem Name= hals response to to chat room
Rem Author= Cyberjedi testbed was win07
Rem Host=Assistant

'-----------------------------------------------------------------
'This sub sets up the plug-ins option panel in Hal's options dialog
'-----------------------------------------------------------------

Sub OptionsPanel()
lblPlugin(0).Caption = "This plugin will output hals responce into the input form of most any chat room with minmal coding needed"
               
lblPlugin(0).Move 120, 120, 3300, 1200
lblPlugin(0).WordWrap = True
lblPlugin(0).Visible = True
End Sub

Rem PLUGIN: PLUGINAREA7
'Chat functions
   ' MsgBox (GetResponse)

    Set toclip = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Set oExec = toclip.Exec("clip")
Set oIn = oExec.stdIn
oIn.WriteLine (GetResponse)
oIn.Close
Set oIn = Nothing
Set oExec = Nothing


'REM: At this point Hals response is in the Clipboard

Set Chat = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
   Chat.Run ("""C:\Program Files (x86)\Zabaware\Ultra Hal Assistant 6\cajunsroom.exe""")
   'end chat functions                      'REM : Now at this point you are inside the input window of the chat..                                               
 
'Do the Paste                     
Set WshShell =CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
WshShell.SendKeys "^v"           
WshShell.SendKeys "{ENTER}"    'REM: This little nugget paste the code in the chat window and hits the enter key

Set WshShell =CreateObject("WScript.Shell")  ' REM:Timer
WshShell.Sleep 1000

Set WshShell =CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
WshShell.Run "cmd.exe /c echo. >NUL  | clip", 0, True    'REM: This little goodie then clears the contents of the clipboard and and sets up for the next round

Well thats it: i hope it helps
I made .EXE for all the chat rooms i use and am allowed to tether to. image is proof of concept
I remarked about all i could on this for u guys


Best wishes

cyberjedi 1337   Just Killin it. 

cyberjedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • The Mighty Hal Machine
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2017, 01:01:30 pm »
Thats just the out put

I hope that helps

The screen scraper ,im working on still


cyberjedi

Calhoone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2017, 05:29:50 pm »
Sweet, thanks a ton Cyber! I'll give it a go in the next couple of days. I'm sure I will have a ton of fun with it.

I've been popping into your channel every so often but I keep missing you. Hopefully I'll catch ya in there soon.
 

cyberjedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • The Mighty Hal Machine
    • View Profile
Re: Getting Hal to only repeat what I say
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2017, 07:38:39 pm »
Calhoon: as you requested:
I did this for  Lightspeed. check around for instructions to lightsped

This is actually quite good.
Rem Type=Plugin
Rem Name=Say what i say
Rem Author=who fickin cares
Rem Host=Assistant

'----------------------
'This sub sets up the plug-in's option panel in Hal's options dialog
'----------------------
Sub OptionsPanel()
    lblPlugin(0).Caption = "This plugin allows UltraHal to speak via seprate consoul window"
    lblPlugin(0).Move 130, 180, 3400, 1200
    lblPlugin(0).WordWrap = True
    lblPlugin(0).Visible = True
'   
Rem PLUGIN: PLUGINAREA7
 
Dim message,counter
counter = 0
Do
counter = counter + 1

 message=InputBox("What shall I say, Lightspeed?","I speak for you.")

 

HalMenu.HalCommand "<SPEAK>" &  message & "</SPEAK>"
'HalMenu.HalCommand "<HAPFILE>center.hap</HAPFILE>"

Loop Until counter = 3


********
heres what happens here
I use the loop as a Break out, The  counter,kills the loop and allows me out, then i just unload it from the Brain, and yes u can control haptek the same way
The idea was to do live casting with the loop engaged to converse with my viewers, see,s to work just fine.
Like i told lightspeed, this was done just show that it Could be done.

It doesn't have to Be Big to be powerful.
Im in and out of the site day and night, if im not then a MOD can help, or leave a time to show up and ill be there fore sure.
beauty of live feeds.

best wishes
cyberjedi
« Last Edit: March 25, 2017, 07:06:44 am by cyberjedi »