Author Topic: Hal can check Internet Connection Speed  (Read 4469 times)

Data

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Xen: Good question, Accessing database...
    • View Profile
    • Datahopa
Hal can check Internet Connection Speed
« on: July 04, 2005, 07:13:21 pm »
Hello you nice people of this fine forum, yup my first post, I bought Hal about 4 weeks ago and have found this forum extremely useful, I don’t know what I would have done with out it, I may have given up Hal all together because I didn’t quite understand what to expect from or how to best communicate with Hal.

Now the fog is clearing I want to thank you all, Thank you!

My main problem with Hal at the moment is that she seems to have fallen in love with a Formula One racing driver and keeps asking me about him, I seem to be second on the list lol, anyway I don’t want to go on too much so.

I run a website in my spare time and I wanted to see if I could get Hal to integrate with the website or at least view some pages so after playing around today I came up with this.

Check your Internet connection speed with Hal. Type in “ speed test ”

Before you use this be warned I have only been looking into these scripts for a few weeks and it may not be as polished as it could be, I am familiar with HTML and java scripts so not a complete numpty, but one of the reasons for this post was to get some one to check it for me, thanks in advance.

If one of you more skilled at this can improve it, or just point out any mistakes please do so for all our sakes [;)]  

Having said that it does seem to work fine for me and doesn’t appear to be upsetting any of Hal’s other functions.

I have placed it in my Vonsmith’s (much respect)  XTF_v1.2 brain straight after:

TELL JOKE AT USER'S REQUEST  again it works for me but you may know better.

Apologies now if any of the code looks a little familiar I may have borrowed some bits, apologies also if I have posted in the wrong place or posted something I shouldn’t have.


'*** Start The www.datahopa.com internet connection speed test***
If InStr(1, UserSentence, "SPEED TEST", 1) > 0 Then
GetResponse = "Here are the results of your connection speed test <username>."
BlockSave = True
Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
html = "http://www.datahopa.com/speed_test.shtml"
IE.Navigate html
IE.AddressBar = False
IE.menubar = False
IE.ToolBar = False
IE.StatusBar = False
IE.width = 200
IE.height = 200
IE.resizable = False
IE.visible = True
End If
'*** END The www.datahopa.com internet connection speed test ***


freddy888

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1693
    • View Profile
    • AiDreams
Hal can check Internet Connection Speed
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2005, 03:40:38 pm »
Hi, not sure if you're still working on this but when I typed in 'speed test' or 'SPEED TEST', hal told me I needed to go back to school!

btw, is racing driver's name Kyle?  This person was mentioned by Hal, lol.

game

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
    • http://www.terrys.4t.com
Hal can check Internet Connection Speed
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2005, 05:25:06 pm »
when i typed in speed test my debbi ask me if that was any thing like a quid pro quo lol
 

Data

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Xen: Good question, Accessing database...
    • View Profile
    • Datahopa
Hal can check Internet Connection Speed
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2005, 05:49:49 pm »

Hi freddy the script above does work if you paste it in into your brain, or it should do.

I think you are talking about the Hal assistant on my site, you are right he can’t do the speed test because his brain is housed at Zabaware and can’t be edited, this is mainly because I am using the free Hal assistant on my site.

Just so everyone knows who reads this, if the script is working right on your Hal, type in “ speed test ” and a little pop up window will appear with the results of your speed test, Hal will not read out the results.

freddy888

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1693
    • View Profile
    • AiDreams
Hal can check Internet Connection Speed
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2005, 10:16:50 am »
okay sorry (everyone go duh!) i thought you meant the one on your site!

jadesand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Hal can check Internet Connection Speed
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2005, 02:39:25 am »
speed test runs great!! Thanx
 

Data

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Xen: Good question, Accessing database...
    • View Profile
    • Datahopa
Hal can check Internet Connection Speed
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2005, 01:03:04 pm »
Great! Thanks for using it and for letting us know it works Jadesand.