dupa

Author Topic: Teaching Hal  (Read 3493 times)

Kurtis

• View Profile
Teaching Hal
« on: January 11, 2003, 02:46:13 am »
I'm new to Hal and I am having a very hard time teaching him thinks like ABC is XYZ as I heard you could do in the help section. Can somebody help me?

hugsetc

• View Profile
Teaching Hal
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2003, 03:35:48 am »
That's one of the two main problems I'm having with him.  Once in a while, when I enter something, he learns it fine.  Usually, he acts like he has no idea I'm trying to teach him.

WholyChao

• View Profile
Teaching Hal
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2003, 04:58:26 pm »
I don't understand exactly what you're asking.  ABC and XYZ could be anything.  

What exactly are you trying to get Hal to do?
How are you trying to teach Hal?
What do you want Hal to do in the long run?

You need to consider all of these things.  You also need to know how Hal learns and what Hal learns.  Not to mention the way the program prosesses information and and how the program stores information that you suply it.

Wholy Chao

hugsetc

• View Profile
Teaching Hal
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2003, 07:09:57 pm »
I don't know what Kurtis is trying to do, of course, but here is what I'm trying to do.

When I type Sweet Pea is sweet, then ask what Sweet Pea is, the program responds that Sweet Pea is sweet.  However, when I type that Nugget is cute, then ask what Nugget is, I get this response: "What is nugget? There's a whole history behind this. I don't know; can you teach me What Heather? What is nugget?"  Of the ones I've tried, the only one that works correctly is when I ask what Sweet Pea is.

WholyChao

• View Profile
Teaching Hal
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2003, 11:36:59 pm »
Just to get an idea of how I can help you.  How far have you explored the brain editor.  Have you looked at the code?  Can you read code?  Do you understand how Hal's brain is set up?