Author Topic: Word Discrimination  (Read 6038 times)

Padriag

• View Profile
    • http://www.bardicheart.com
Word Discrimination
« on: February 22, 2004, 08:36:45 pm »
Okay, I'm very carefully skirting the edges of tinkering with Hal's brain.  Mostly I'm just learning how it works right now, what it can and can't do.

Here's my question, how good is Hal at discriminating between similar words, context of use, and does it recognize a hyphenated word as being a different word than one of the root words?  In the later case, if it cannot recognize the difference, how does it handle the hyphenated word (two words combined by a hyphen) for things like topic recognition?

vonsmith

• View Profile
Word Discrimination
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2004, 09:10:37 pm »
Padriag,
I haven't looked closely at hyphens in particular. Hal removes some punctuation when preprocessing the user's sentence. Hal also adds a space between words and punctuation so that the words can be detected easier. When commands are given to Hal he is very literal about words being spelled correctly. I theorized a while back that his operation would be better if I added some script to correct some common spelling errors. That script also changed British spelling into American spelling, i.e. colour vs color. That script has been posted here before and is included in my XTF brain script that is on the forum's file download page. I think this improved his capability a little.

For creating a response to a user's sentence Hal is less fussy about spelling. Hal uses a heuristic function that finds the best keyword match in his QA (Question/Answer) type files. He will extract keywords from the user's current sentence and find the best match to keyword phrases saved from prior conversations in the appropriate QA type .brn file. If a sufficiently good match is found then Hal returns the sentence associated with the keyword phrase to the user as a response.

=vonsmith=

Padriag

• View Profile
Word Discrimination