Author Topic: logic and reasoning  (Read 2883 times)

rfreeman

• View Profile
logic and reasoning
« on: January 27, 2006, 09:31:29 pm »
Hi, I am new to this forum, to HAL, and to AI bots in general. I recently purchased HAL 6 and am having a great time. I must admit that although Hal is marketed as an "assistant," the assistant functions are relatively useless to me. I can just as easily click an icon or type a search request in my browser. Nevertheless, Hal is great entertainment (especially reading its AIM chat logs) and I am eager to discover the possibilities of Hal's reasoning capabilities.

I have begun to experiment just a bit with the brain editor; mostly just making some small corrections and adding some "if, then" rules. The "if, then" function has got me wondering though...how difficult would it be to program Hal with more complex forms of deductive reasoning? I am not a programmer, so forgive me if I sound ignorant. But, since deductive arguments can be expressed mathematically, it seems to me that it should not be terribly difficult to incorporate things such as syllogistic reasoning, modus ponens, modus tollens, etc. It seems that if this could be incorporated, Hal's reasoning ability, and thus its learning, could advance rapidly.

Art

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
logic and reasoning
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2006, 11:24:39 pm »
Welcome!

There are a number of current members that are actively pursuing enhancements to Hal's brain by way of various "plug-ins", modules that allow Hal to do different things.

Check through the forum postings and don't forget to use the Search feature at the top to help you do so.

There are a few names that come to mind and not in any particular order: onthecuttingedge2005, GrantNZ, scratch, vrossi and several other programming wizzards to get you started.

Enjoy!
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

freddy888

• View Profile
    • AiDreams
logic and reasoning