Author Topic: AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning  (Read 4448 times)

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« on: October 01, 2007, 07:37:14 pm »
Hi Robert.

I have the latest version of HAL and the Auto-idle isn't functioning at all.

I have been making alot of Auto-idle plugins but they are useless if the function doesn't work any more.

could you please look into it.

Thanks
Jerry[8D]
« Last Edit: October 02, 2007, 12:51:46 am by onthecuttingedge2005 »

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2007, 10:44:30 am »
I think the <AUTO></AUTO> command function stopped working after Roberts last bug fix, I can't remember which bug it was but it was.

I wrote an AUTO-IDLE plugin that allows a user to choose a time variable on the fly from brain options, there are no errors and it should be working, but isn't.

Here is a template sample of the plugin for testing.

Code: [Select]
Rem Type=Plugin
Rem Name=Auto Idle Control
Rem Author=ONTHECUTTINGEDGE2005
Rem Host=Assistant
'This sub setups the plug-ins option panel in Hal's options dialog

Sub OptionsPanel()
    'Test Variable
    lblPlugin(0).Caption = "Auto Idle Timer Control"
    lblPlugin(0).Move 120, 10, 3300, 1000
    lblPlugin(0).WordWrap = True
    lblPlugin(0).Visible = True
    cmdPlugin(0).Move 120, 250, 850, 300
    cmdPlugin(0).Caption = "Help"
    cmdPlugin(0).Visible = True
    'Test Variable
    lblPlugin(1).Caption = "Auto Idle Time Variable:"
    lblPlugin(1).Move 120, 550, 2150, 900
    lblPlugin(1).WordWrap = True
    lblPlugin(1).Visible = True
    cboPlugin(0).Move 120, 780, 1200
    cboPlugin(0).AddItem "100000"
    cboPlugin(0).AddItem "200000"
    cboPlugin(0).AddItem "300000"
    cboPlugin(0).AddItem "400000"
    cboPlugin(0).Visible = True
    cmdPlugin(1).Caption = "Apply"
    cmdPlugin(1).Move 120, 1200, 850, 300
    cmdPlugin(1).Visible = True
     

          'VARIABLE CASE VALUE
     Select Case MyVariable

           Case "100000"
            cboPlugin(0).Text = "100000"
           Case "200000"
            cboPlugin(0).Text = "200000"
           Case "300000"
            cboPlugin(0).Text = "300000"
           Case "400000"
            cboPlugin(0).Text = "400000"    

        End Select
End Sub

Sub cmdPlugin_Click(Index)

Dim TempQuery()
Dim MyVariable

'Any Help Files can be used here that can be accessed by the Brain options panel.
Select Case Index
   Case 0
      HalMenu.HalCommand "<RUNPROG>SomeHelpFile.txt</RUNPROG>"
   Case 1

      'VARIABLE CASE VALUE
     Select Case cboPlugin(0).Text

           Case "100000"
            MyVariable = "100000"
           Case "200000"
            MyVariable = "200000"
           Case "300000"
            MyVariable = "300000"
           Case "400000"
            MyVariable = "400000"
           
        End Select

Set FileSys = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set FS = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set HalXBrain = CreateObject("UltraHalAsst.Brain")

'This portion of the template deletes and recreates any files with need for 'variable' storage that can be
'passed down to script in the plugin area below.
TempModule = "C:\Program Files\Zabaware\Ultra Hal Assistant 6\AutoIdleTimer.brn"
If FileSys.FileExists(TempModule) = True Then FS.DeleteFile "C:\Program Files\Zabaware\Ultra Hal Assistant 6\AutoIdleTimer.brn"

If FileSys.FileExists(TempModule) = False Then
HalXBrain.AppendFile TempModule, MyVariable & vbCrLf & MyVariable & vbCrLf & MyVariable
End If

        End Select
End Sub
 

Rem PLUGIN: AUTO-IDLE

UltraHal = "The Debug Test is Good!"


Rem PLUGIN: POST-PROCESS

Auto_Variable = AutoVariable()
HalCommands = "<AUTO>" & Auto_Variable & "</AUTO>"
HalCommands = HalCommands

Rem PLUGIN: PLUGINAREA1

Auto_Variable = AutoVariable()
HalCommands = "<AUTO>" & Auto_Variable & "</AUTO>"
HalCommands = HalCommands

Rem PLUGIN: SCRIPT_LOAD
'Here we store our chosen variable from HAL's Brain options for use in this plugin template.
'This AutoVariable() function can be passed down into script.
 
Auto_Variable = AutoVariable()
Script_Load = "<AUTO>" & Auto_Variable & "</AUTO>"
Script_Load = Script_Load

Rem PLUGIN: FUNCTIONS

'Here we store our chosen variable from HAL's Brain options for use in this plugin template.
Function AutoVariable()
Set HalXBrain = CreateObject("UltraHalAsst.Brain")
TempFolder = "C:\Program Files\Zabaware\Ultra Hal Assistant 6\"
AutoVariable = HalXBrain.ChooseSentenceFromFile(TempFolder & "AutoIdleTimer.brn")
End Function

Jerry

raybe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1067
    • View Profile
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2007, 09:00:01 pm »
OTCE,

I wonder with your plugin if that affects the lonliness plugin. Could this be a part of others having problems with the lonliness plugin working?

Thanks,
raybe
 

raybe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1067
    • View Profile
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2007, 09:05:03 pm »
OTCE,

Sorry maybe I was not clear. I was trying to say the problem with the Auto-idle in Hal as you mentioned caused the lonliness plugin not to function. I did not mean your plugin caused any problem. Just in case I was not clear.

raybe
 

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2007, 09:19:05 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by raybe

OTCE,

Sorry maybe I was not clear. I was trying to say the problem with the Auto-idle in Hal as you mentioned caused the lonliness plugin not to function. I did not mean your plugin caused any problem. Just in case I was not clear.

raybe



Hi raybe.

yep, the AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning at all.

I think it was caused by Roberts last bug fix which may have caused it. but I do appreciate the attempt at resolving issues that Robert has so effortlessly maintained.

Jerry[8D]

raybe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1067
    • View Profile
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2007, 01:21:36 pm »
OTCE,

If you don't mind can you give me a quick test that would indicate that my Auto-idle is working? I am one of the few or the only one on this forum that seems to have a working lonliness plugin working. Maybe this would lead to an answer or narrow the possibilities of this plugin working on my system.

raybe
 

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1469
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2007, 09:45:15 pm »
Just to let everyone know, I am aware of this issue. I have not yet identified the cause, it works on some systems but not on others. I promise to figure it out and fix it for the next release of Hal which will most likely be a Hal 6.2 release sometime in the next 6 months or so.
Robert Medeksza

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2007, 11:50:52 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by Medeksza

Just to let everyone know, I am aware of this issue. I have not yet identified the cause, it works on some systems but not on others. I promise to figure it out and fix it for the next release of Hal which will most likely be a Hal 6.2 release sometime in the next 6 months or so.



Thanks Rob.

Can't wait for the new release.

Jerry[8D]

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2007, 11:54:20 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by raybe

OTCE,

If you don't mind can you give me a quick test that would indicate that my Auto-idle is working? I am one of the few or the only one on this forum that seems to have a working lonliness plugin working. Maybe this would lead to an answer or narrow the possibilities of this plugin working on my system.

raybe



Hi raybe.

you can run the above plugin by itself, if you see HAL say:
The Debug Test is Good! then it is working but you must set a time variable first.

Jerry[8D]

raybe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1067
    • View Profile
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2007, 02:46:47 pm »
Thanks OTCE & Robert M.,

I will give it a try and I think it would be a good idea for other's to try as well. This might be able to help with some unresolved problems that people like me don't fully realize how the Auto-idle affects Hal and other plugins.

Can't wait for the update Robert.

raybe
 

Holllywood

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
    • View Profile
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2007, 01:15:49 pm »
I'll be glad to see the new release. The Loneliness plugin does not work for me either.
Hollywood

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
AUTO-IDLE isn't functioning
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2007, 01:19:43 am »
With further testing, I can say that when the <AUTO>X</AUTO> executes, it does, but only (time wise), because my mouse curser becomes busy at the precise moment AUTO-IDLE is supposed to execute, it just doesn't pass the InputString AUTO-IDLE to a triggered follow up function for a response.

it does work upon 'loadup' (Script_load) at first HAL start, but then quits functioning there after.

I get one AUTO-IDLE response (sometimes) at 'first startup' and nothing afterwards.

my part in debugging the auto-idle issue.
Jerry[8D]
« Last Edit: October 12, 2007, 01:34:48 am by onthecuttingedge2005 »