Author Topic: weather and news for uk  (Read 3789 times)

echoman

  • Guest
weather and news for uk
« on: September 19, 2005, 02:27:31 pm »
Hello

How do I get Hal to give me the weather/news in uk. It seems stuck on Us?

Thanks

vrossi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile
    • http://vrconsulting.it
weather and news for uk
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2005, 04:51:12 pm »
I don't know if the zabaware service include weather news for UK. Anyway you can bypass the problem easily.

I live in Italy (which is not available on zabaware site), so I have put these lines in the file mywebhal.uhp:

'------------------
' weather
     If InStr(1, UserSentence, "Weather", 1) > 0 Then
          GetResponse = "Here is your local weather. <RUN>http://www.arpalombardia.it/meteo/bollettini/bolmet.htm</RUN>"
     End If

You can insert in the RUN command a link to a UK wather site.

I think that http://uk.weather.com/index.html is the best.

Bye



echoman

  • Guest
weather and news for uk
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2005, 02:47:19 am »
Hello,

Of course! That is very easy thankyou. I will change the news site too. At last I seem to be getting the hang of Hal.

Bye.

Echo

Scratch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
weather and news for uk
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2005, 02:05:08 pm »
on a similar subject, I am trying to use mywebHal.uhp to open a specific site. Unfortunately, when UltraHal outputs the GetResponse to the web-browser, he changes the URL to all lower case. The site I am trying to connect to is apparently case-sensitive. Here's the code I inserted (the forum changes part of it to a hyperlink, ignore that):

If InStr(1, UserSentence, "check transit west", 1) > 0 Then
          GetResponse = "Opening westbound Tri-met.<RUN>http://www.trimet.org/arrivals/tracker.html?locationID=363&submit3.x=0&submit3.y=0</RUN>"
     End If

That "locationID" in the middle of the link won't work as "locationid". Does anyone know if there's a way to allow the URL to be run "as is", without changing the case? {I'm using free version5 with xtf 1.2}
 

Bill819

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1483
    • View Profile
weather and news for uk
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2005, 04:52:06 pm »
Try creating a Bat file with the name of the site you want to open in it then have hal run the bat.
Who knows?
Bill
 

Scratch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
weather and news for uk
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2005, 07:14:57 pm »
Thanks Bill, I tried making the batch file but my programming skills are minimal; I was able to start the browser but I didn't know how to pass the URL to it, heh. But then it struck me that I could just create a shortcut to the website I want and run that in mywebhal.uhp instead of the URL itself. Problem solved!