Author Topic: New characters  (Read 5780 times)

Biggins2002

• View Profile
New characters
« on: December 11, 2001, 12:36:14 pm »
I've seen some posts where people want to make new characters. Is anyone done this yet? This may sound like a stupid question, but is there any way to change a .acs file into a .ocx? All of the msagent files seem to have the .acs file name and the character files in the hal program have .ocx. I know it may sound pretty silly huh? I know I'm not a programer, but hey isn't that the way things get answered by asking silly questions?

Biggins2002

Medeksza

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
New characters
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2001, 09:38:03 pm »
Ultra Hal Assistant will accept either its own proprietary character plugin which is an an OCX file, or it is able to accept any MSAgent character if you make a small UHP text file telling its object name. Also you need to make a JPG of an intro screen for the character and a preview image. Its actually quite simple. The best way to see how this works is to look at how Ultra Hal Assistant loads the current MSAgent characters. Lets take the Microsoft genie character as an example. Open the file "C:/Program Files/Zabaware/Ultra Hal Assistant 4/genie.uhp" It will look like this:

[Ultra Hal Assistant 2.0 Plugin]
[DO NOT MODIFY]
Type=Face
Name=Genie MSAgent Character
Speech=True
AgentChar=True
Startup=genistrt.jpg
Preview=geniprvw.jpg
Object=Genie
BGColor=048048048

You can have Hal use any MSAgent character simply by making a file like this one. Just figure out the object name of your ACS file and set the Object= line appropiately. Also change the name line to whatever the name of the charater is. Make 2 jpeg files with a startup screen featuring the character and a preview of that character and reference the files in the Startup= and Preview= lines. The jpg files should be located in the "Characters" subfolder.

Robert Medeksza
Robert Medeksza

Biggins2002