Author Topic: Q&A  (Read 23492 times)

deitz75

• View Profile
Q&A
« on: October 17, 2012, 10:15:12 am »
I would like to used the Brain editor to program Hal to troubleshoot problems. Example: User: "My computer will not power on." Hal: "Is the computer plugged in?" User:"Yes." Hal:"Are there any lights or LEDs on that suggest power to the motherboard?" User: "No." Hal: "Do you have a power supply tester?" User: "No." Hal: "There is a good possibility that your power supply maybe at fault. I suggest you either test your current power supply, or replace it." Now, if the user answered no to the question of, "Is the computer plugged in?" Hal would give the answer, "Please plug the computer into the proper outlet and proceed with normal operations."

Now I realize the countless scenarios that have to be enter into the editor, but I'm looking for a known working procedure that would give me the responses to yes or no question, and follow a logical ladder diagram.

I am a technician/engineer of sorts and I sometimes find myself over thinking problems, and issues. It would be nice to use Hal as a partner, in the realm of what I do, and keep someone around that can keep me on track, with simplicity, and logical thought.

onthecuttingedge2005

Re: Q&A
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 11:54:07 am »
Hi deitz.

You could always try something like this:

Code: [Select]

If InStr(1, OriginalSentence, "My computer will not power on", 1) Then Diagnostics = True
    If InStr(1, OriginalSentence, "My computer won't power on", 1) Then Diagnostics = True
    If Diagnostics = True Then         
    Select Case HalBrain.RandomNum(4)
            Case 1
                GetResponse = "Is the computer plugged in?" & vbCrLf
            Case 2
                GetResponse = "Are there any lights or LEDs on that suggest power to the motherboard?" & vbCrLf
            Case 3
                GetResponse = "Do you have a power supply tester?" & vbCrLf
            Case 4