Author Topic: Brain programming problems  (Read 7310 times)

rd618725

• View Profile
Brain programming problems
« on: September 20, 2008, 03:04:59 am »
I I have read a lot of great information from some real seasoned users like Jerry and Art. I am very new to Hal and kind of started searching for some plug-in's that would improve it quickly. I did some brain altering and tried to input some script information that I found in this forum and think I might have done more damage then good. Could anyone help me or direct me to a programming manual or resource that could get me started on understanding just how it all works and goes together so I can repair and improve it with out doing more damage.

I very much would appreciate any information and direction that I could get. If you have such information available and you don't mind you can e-mail it to me at dellacamera@hush.com

Thanks

Data

• Xen: Good question, Accessing database...
    • View Profile
    • Datahopa
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 06:10:40 am »
Hi rd618725, be very careful with plug-ins, many of them don’t work with Hal 6, the basic rule is if you have to edit hals brain script then the chances are its not for Hal 6, Hal 6 plug-ins are simply put into hals root folder and then switched on in hals general options.

There is no manual for Hal 6 yet.

As for improving hal with plug-ins, many of us who have had hal a number of years don’t use them, personally I think you should talk to Hal and get to know it first.

Make sure you answer Hals questions.

Use the “because” statement to drum the reasons for your answers into hal.

“I like hot sunny days because it makes me feel happy”

Start teaching hal with the if and then statements.

“If it rains then the roads get wet”

When you have answered hals questions ask hal if it understands.

“Do you understand rain?”

If you could be more specific about what you want to improve that might help you get the answers you seek.