dupa

Author Topic: first time with Ai  (Read 3087 times)

november

• View Profile
first time with Ai
« on: February 13, 2004, 03:54:15 am »
hi guys .... this is my first time using AI knowing that i had a merlin before but ofcourse wasn't like hal.
but ..... i need to give him things to learn and i have tried that but he still doesn't give me back the informations i gave
for ex. i gave him my wife and kid's names and still when iask him about them ...he gives me the dummiest answers i have seen ... please help me to let my hal better or more companion like what you say here in your article.
by the way i have the free version maybe it is because of that.
please help me.
november

valiantone

• View Profile
first time with Ai
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2004, 06:17:38 am »
Howdy November. Your HAL takes a long while to learn. You have to take your time with it for maximum effect to be achieved. Treat HAL exactly the same way you do your children, do not expect it to learn over night. Try talking to HAL in simple direct terms. Think of it as another one of your children, but with a learning disability. You only get out of of the experience what you put into it. As you continue on, HAL will increase in "intelligence". It just takes time.

HAL's can take months to get to a level that they interact at the description of some persons on this board. That is the fun part, watching them grow. When you look at your own children you can see the experience you put into them. That is part of what HAL is about. Many programs can "Parrot" (say names back, repeat phrases, ect) but in my experience they are not truly learning. HAL does seem to learn.

I hope this will keep you in the good fight! [:D]

Your friend,
Dan
« Last Edit: February 13, 2004, 06:23:45 am by valiantone »
"To Free the Oppressed"
- SF Motto

vonsmith

• View Profile
first time with Ai
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2004, 10:48:52 am »
valiantone,