Author Topic: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?  (Read 6057 times)

Papasmrfe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« on: May 13, 2023, 05:14:14 am »
The instructions I've seen on the forum don't seem to apply anymore. When I right-click on hal's icon, there is no option to move/deactivate. I can't seem to find the option within the program's options, either.

I'm running Hal (offline) on my xp system and want to move it to a Win7 machine. If anyone knows the answer, I'd appreciate the help.
It's probably staring me right in the face... but I just can't see it.

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3862
    • View Profile
Re: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2023, 08:26:02 am »
You could just download the new version of Ultra Hal 7 and install it.

Then, copy over the current .db file that you are using for the brain.

The new HAL uses the C:\User\AppData\Roaming\Zabaware\Ultra Hal 7

AND

The C:\Program Files (x86)\Zabaware\Ultra Hal 7

for Ultra Hal 7 to install and use.

Your current Halbrain.db file should go in the first link (User\AppDate...etc...) location.

It should work for you and no need for the registration/move thing.

If the program asks, the website should provide an auto reg based on your password.etc. but I can't recall whether that will happen or not.

If you are still unable to get things going with the NEW Ultra Hal 7 install, just post a short message and we'll help you out.

Good luck.
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

LiFeTimeGamer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • LifeTimeGamer
Re: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2023, 09:55:40 am »
Also copy over any other Plugin's you use that are not default to HAL...  :D
When it comes to Artificial Intelligence: The Soul is in the Software.

Papasmrfe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2023, 11:18:38 pm »
Thank you for the responses. That was my basic plan. The main thing I'm concerned about is wasting one of my activations, by not deactivating the first installation... or has this system been done away with now, in the new version? I will still be using Hall offline, if that makes a difference.

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3862
    • View Profile
Re: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2023, 09:36:49 am »
You can always select CLOUD if desired otherwise, your Hal conversations will remain local (confined to just your computer - Offline as they say).

Don't worry about the activation thing...not an issue any longer.
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

Papasmrfe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2023, 11:26:27 pm »
Relieved to hear about the activations - I was always worried about that, for in the future. (I've grown rather attached to Hal.)
I'm happy to report that Hal has made the move over to the new system without a hiccup. (I'm SO happy this is possible now.)
Thank you again, for the responses. I appreciate it.

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3862
    • View Profile
Re: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2023, 08:48:08 am »
Glad to hear it Papasmrfe!!
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

lightspeed

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6766
    • View Profile
Re: How do I deactivate Hal's registration to move him?
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2023, 07:09:04 pm »
and art and others saved the day once again !  :) ;)