Zabaware Support Forums

Zabaware Forums => Ultra Hal Assistant File Sharing Area => Topic started by: LiFeTimeGamer on May 04, 2018, 10:33:56 pm

Title: Un-needed Code line in S.A.L.L.I.E 3.0???
Post by: LiFeTimeGamer on May 04, 2018, 10:33:56 pm
Was looking through the code and found this, look at line 31 in my attached image...

The spinner sequence should go from 1 to 5 but line 31 says; If Spinner = 23 then line 32 says: If Spinner = 2

Is that just a mistake Doony?...  :)










Title: Re: Un-needed Code line in S.A.L.L.I.E 3.0???
Post by: Ameliaz on May 21, 2018, 05:14:18 am
How much can I access the content of these forums in order to be developed in the future?
Title: Re: Un-needed Code line in S.A.L.L.I.E 3.0???
Post by: Art on May 21, 2018, 08:40:04 am
Ameliaz,

This is an open Public Forum for those interested in exploring A.I. (Artificial Intelligence) and other possibilities by way of the program, Ultra Hal 7, primarily a Chatbot.
Hal can be enhanced through 3rd party "Plugins" that allow Hal to do a variety of helpful tasks.

You are free to read through the Forum and its content as much as you want and as long as you want. No limits.

Enjoy!
Title: Re: Un-needed Code line in S.A.L.L.I.E 3.0???
Post by: Art on May 21, 2018, 08:56:02 am
Was looking through the code and found this, look at line 31 in my attached image...

The spinner sequence should go from 1 to 5 but line 31 says; If Spinner = 23 then line 32 says: If Spinner = 2

Is that just a mistake Doony?...  :)
==========================

LifeTimeGamer / Doony/ et. al.,

There is another sequence in Hal that uses that EXACT code and makes much better sense from a code standpoint.
0 - 5 = 6 Choices, Zero has been a starting number for many years instead of our school teaching 1,2,3,4., in computers it's 0,1,2,3, etc.

Around line 168 (in my SALLIE3.0 plugin):
168 RESPOND: USER EXPRESSES AN EXPLANATION
Spinner = Int(Rnd * 1)
         If Spinner = 1 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 23 Then GetResponse = " " & " <UserName> " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 2 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & " <UserName> " & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 3 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & " <UserName> " & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 4 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " <UserName> " & " "
         If Spinner = 5 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         DebugInfo = DebugInfo & "The user has expressed a explanation and Hal has responded: " & GetResponse & vbCrLf

There is also, which I believe to be the correct code line (approximate) 4895

Spinner = Int(Rnd * 6)
         If Spinner = 0 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 1 Then GetResponse = " " & " <UserName> " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 2 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & " <UserName> " & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 3 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & " <UserName> " & SuffixComment & " "
         If Spinner = 4 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " <UserName> " & " "
         If Spinner = 5 Then GetResponse = " " & IntroExclaim & Enlightener & ExplainPhrase & SuffixComment & " "
         DebugInfo = DebugInfo & "The user has expressed a explanation and Hal has responded: " & GetResponse & vbCrLf

==============================
I changed my code in those line numbers shown and everything works great.
It was probably just a late night snafu in the original code.

Hope this helps.