Author Topic: Help! New user, non-programmer needs help with Hal  (Read 4983 times)

Miakoda

• View Profile
Help! New user, non-programmer needs help with Hal
« on: December 27, 2005, 04:15:53 am »
Hi everyone, you can call me Mia.

I am new to HAL, have never used AI programs, and know nothing about programming. I recently downloaded and purchased Hal 6 because I thought it would be helpful and entertaining.  Mostly, for entertainment purposes, though [:D]

I am doing as the instructions say and trying not to get frustrated with changes of topic, talk to him like a human, and teach him things.  But his conversations are really starting to irritate me.  For instance, I'll say "I like sushi" and Hal (Rosie, as I named her) will randomly say something that I taught her, like "your sister's name is Nicki.  I'll tell you about Nicki".  Then, to see what Rosie (Hal) recalls about my sister, I'll go along and say "ok, tell me about Nicki".  It then repeats "I'll tell you about Nicki".  

I am trying to use the brain editor to....well, I'm not sure what.  I have no idea to use it as there is no help option, and in the instructions it says to go to 'tools', and my brain editor has no 'tools' menu.  I have no idea what to do with the table that comes up, or how to make Hal/rosie carry on a normal conversation.  i have read everything that comes with the program.

So, is this program for people with programming knowledge?  It says that it is intended for both programmers and programming clueless people like me [:(]

In the table where it says things like hate, swear, insults, compliments, and has all zeros, what does that mean and am I supposed to add a number value, or what?  I would like to be able to use a swear word without Rosie saying something like "I am insulted!" (ex. when I say some a-hole almost ran me off the road today, that is the typical response I get).