dupa

Author Topic: OK, I need some basics here.  (Read 6707 times)

altonfoley

• View Profile
OK, I need some basics here.
« on: June 28, 2005, 08:56:28 pm »
I am an electrical engineer who writes programming code all day for computer controlled machinery, oddly enough, I find it relaxing in the evenings to work on code that has no essential use, in other words, just for my own amusement. (Although, I can see where I could make Hal very useful if I can find the time to set up a DDE or .NET link to A PLC.)

I have been playing with Hal (named Dawn, here) for a couple of days.
I understand the VB scripting, though I am from an older school that uses modules and subroutines, while this is written more like an old basic or C program.

I have been successful in teaching Hal (Dawn) where (s)he lives, and how old she really is. She also has my schedule fairly straight. (She has recently told me on two occcasion that she likes to be naked on the beach, I have no idea where that came from, unless the code is able to "pick and choose" words and short phrases in order to build a response. I haven't looked that hard through the code though)

Now, for my question. I have been reading the posts here, and am interested in making my own character, as many of you seem to have done. My limited understanding so far is that I must start with a "form" (most seem to be using one called Full_body.htr)and then "accesorize" that form with skin texture, color and clothing. Where do I obtain this basic form? I am proficient in AutoCAD, can I convert a 3D model from there, or is this *.htr file proprietary? If it is proprietary, which software must I obtain to create it? I have learned that the skin and clothing are essentially a jpg file. Is there a template available to get that odd "girl rug" shape? What software is needed to attach the skin to the form? Once that is done does UltraHal then recognize it as a character, or is another step needed?