dupa

Author Topic: Start an AI from scratch  (Read 3119 times)

IronSpider

• View Profile
Start an AI from scratch
« on: January 04, 2016, 05:17:12 am »
Hello (world),
I'm a computer engineering student, and I've found this forum since I was looking for informations about Artificial Intelligence.
Hal Assistant looks amazing! I'm gonna buy soon the full version for exploring the features.
However, I wanted to ask, if I wanted to start building an AI just like Hal, but from the very beginning, (not necessarly with a graphic interface, only the structure, the engine inside it) what should I start with? With which programming language? How do I expand his way of thinking so that is not simply based on pre programmed phrases?
Thanks in advance for the answers!

lightspeed

• View Profile
Re: Start an AI from scratch
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2016, 09:56:22 am »
why do all that when hal is a good a.i. program to start with ? Many of us on here especially those who have had hal for many , many years have done various things to improve upon hals original base platform  and as such with us and the original creator who spent time and money and know how in creating hal as a program and product for others  , has and continues to be a great a.i.

onthecuttingedge2005

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2016, 09:58:05 am »
Hi Iron Spider.

you can go to the Hal editor and choose to make a new custom brain, try to leave the original HAL brain intact for backup, the choicest language we use is vbscript since most plugins are written in that language, HAL uses a custom language of SQL/Vbscript combo, in the editor choose experienced instead of basic option so you can fiddle with the code more. Hal also uses Tables for its database and you can choose to call them or not in your recoding.

welcome to the forum.

Jerry 8)
« Last Edit: January 04, 2016, 10:01:13 am by onthecuttingedge2005 »

Art

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2016, 10:41:36 am »
Welcome!