Author Topic: back ground behind hal character  (Read 3017 times)

lightspeed

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6578
    • View Profile
back ground behind hal character
« on: March 14, 2007, 05:43:32 pm »
hello i knew how to change the back ground on the hal 5 but how do i do it on hal 6 (does this also require the expansion pack too ? ) if not where do i place a back ground picture ( that goes behind the characters ) i tried in the characters folder of hal 6 but it didnt work . any help on this is as always appreciated ![:D]thanks
 

aladyblond

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
    • View Profile
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2007, 07:16:38 pm »
you will have to rename all background pictures with a tag similar to roomback.jpg in order for them to work,"back" has to be the last word next to .jpg--- sometimes once you have placed a picture in the char file you have to shut hal down and reboot computer for it to work properly. ~~alady
~~~if i only had a brain~~~ i dream of htr with the light brown hair....

caangel43

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 931
    • View Profile
    • http://www.puttyheadworld.com
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2007, 07:36:08 pm »
you will need the expansion pack to use haptek chr. the backs only work with haptek

Carl2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2007, 02:49:33 pm »
lightspeed,
  I wanted to mention the VrHaptek plugin that's available from Virtual humans, it will automaticaly change the background in the morning and when it gets dark. It also has quite a few other features that I like.
  aladyblond, nice to see you in the forum, I hope all is going well for you.
Carl2

 

aladyblond

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
    • View Profile
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2007, 08:00:21 pm »
thanks carl little by little day by day[:)]
~~~if i only had a brain~~~ i dream of htr with the light brown hair....

danbaltzell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
    • http://geocities.com/danbaltzell/ai
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2007, 04:42:01 am »
If you wanted the script command it's


LoadBackGrnd[ file= name.jpg ]

I remember when I started doing this stuff, I just went into the character director renamed one of the existing files like

SandyBack.jpg

to SandyBack1.jpg

then copied the one I wanted to use to the directory and renamed it SandyBack.jpg

it worked, but what the hay.

 

Bill819

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1483
    • View Profile
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2007, 01:48:47 pm »
Lightspeed
In the paid version of Hal 5, in the window where Hals picture is there was an arrow. All you had to do was click on the arrow to change the background. You did not need to buy an expansion pack at that time it was a standard feature.
Bill
 

lightspeed

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6578
    • View Profile
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2007, 06:22:43 pm »
thanks Bill819, (and others )yes i had found out about the hal 5 version of changing the back ground but now am into 6 (although i do still have my five too. [:D] so i will have to get the expansion pack which i plan on doing soon . [:)]but am glad t o hear from different ones on doing things , thanks to all !![:)]
 

Bill819

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1483
    • View Profile
back ground behind hal character
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2007, 07:13:11 pm »
Lightspeed
Before you install Hal 6 create another directory for Hal 5 and then copy all of Hal 5's file into the director. Don't remove the old ones and Hal 6 will use them to make copies of your old brains.
In this way you can two different verions running.
Bill