Author Topic: HalScript error  (Read 3629 times)

wayneout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
HalScript error
« on: December 27, 2009, 12:28:03 pm »
I keep getting this error message. It pops up every minute or so.
I have uninstalled the program and reinstalled it, but I still get
the same error message. (It has popped up twide since I have been
typing this)

Halscript error 13 on line 4591 in Column D  type mismatch "CDBL"

Then it goes on about something being saved to debug the program.

Anyone know what this could be?    I even tried to do system
restore with no luck. Was theresomething left on the computer
when I uninstalled it?
Thanks,
Bill
 

Bill819

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1483
    • View Profile
HalScript error
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2009, 01:11:56 am »
I don't know what it is but I believe that CDBL is a math error. It might be a good idea to turn off you anti-virus software and try installing Hal once again, it seems you have a bad load. You might try to copy your Hal brain files to another directory first in case you have done a lot of training, but everything else should go because you don't know where the error is actually located.
Bill819
 

Baerdric

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Looking at things and pondering about stuff
    • View Profile
HalScript error
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2009, 05:41:30 am »
CDBL is a vbScript function that changes what type of variable a value is. The error usually means that you have changed the type to something that is unsuitable.

Disable all plugins and see if you still get it. If so, list the program lines where it occurs. If not, reactivate the plugins one by one until it comes back then list the plugin and lines associated with that.
Don't blame me, I'm just the voice in his head.

wayneout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
HalScript error
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2009, 12:23:21 pm »
Right now, the problem seems to have been solved.
I had a created a new Brain which I called NewBrain (very original).
When I first started getting the error, I took the .db file and
the .uhp file completely out of the folders. Then, I uninstalled
and re-installed. But I was still getting the error. I checked
the log that it made and it mentioned, "NewBrain". I checked the
folder and there was a NewBrain.db file with no .uhp file. The
new NewBrain.db folder was only 3kb in size. I deleted it and
restarted Hal, but again, it created that folder and gave me
the error. Finally, I moved my NewBrain.db and NewBrain.uhp back
in the folder and restarted and now I have no problem.
I do not know why it was creating the NewBrain.db file to start
with since this was a reinstall. It was not showing this file in
the general options. The only brain there was the original hal
brain.  Anyway, it seems to be working now.
Thanks,
Bill
 

jasondude7116

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 475
    • View Profile
HalScript error
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2009, 04:47:12 pm »
it might be possible that the Cdbl error is happening because the database is not available at the time that the script is trying to access it.

i have this issue with the Cdbl error with the minute timer trying to access the database.

The same script will work sometimes, with the same data in the database. It is not an error because the database field has improper data, but i think it's because there is no access to it.

Any ideas guys?


now, for those who don't know: the database loses focus when there is a script error. it must be restarted, or you will continue to have errors and no database connection.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2009, 04:50:04 pm by jasondude7116 »
 

Bill819

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1483
    • View Profile
HalScript error
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2009, 10:44:52 pm »
In old fashioned Basic it is caused by trying to declare a numerical variable as a double presion when in fact it can not be because it was already made something else.
Bill