Author Topic: Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work  (Read 27014 times)

Bill DeWitt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #30 on: December 05, 2006, 07:30:18 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by Bill DeWitt

Just in case it got lost in the flood, turning off speech doesn't seem to work,

Works now for some reason....

quote:
and working with the LH speech pronunciation dialog throws an error on exit.
"Ultra Hal Assistant"
"Run-time error '445':"
"Object doesn't support this action"

This still doesn't seem to work.


lauramb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #31 on: December 08, 2006, 03:37:00 am »
Mr.M

[8D]I have some very exciting news for you regarding, "Hidden changes to Hal's graphics plug-in system that will allow for future alternative graphics engines to be used." Can I contact you privately, or you contact me?

Sorry to be so clandestine everyone, [:I]but the details are still in the works[;)]
Laura Benson

Bill DeWitt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #32 on: December 08, 2006, 09:50:50 am »
quote:
Originally posted by Bill DeWitt

quote:
Originally posted by Bill DeWitt

Just in case it got lost in the flood, turning off speech doesn't seem to work,

Works now for some reason....
Arrgh! Now it doesn't work again! What did I do and how can I do it again! Am I crazy? Is this the end of the world? Will Jessica ever regain her lost love who was shipwrecked and suffers from amnesia but everyone thinks he is dead?

<deep breath><affirmation>I am a calm, reasonable person and by Golly, I like me! </affirmation></deep breath>

<forget that new age stuff><primal scream> arrggh!! </primal scream></that helps a little>

[:D]


Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #33 on: December 08, 2006, 09:53:05 am »
quote:
Originally posted by lauramb

Mr.M

[8D]I have some very exciting news for you regarding, "Hidden changes to Hal's graphics plug-in system that will allow for future alternative graphics engines to be used." Can I contact you privately, or you contact me?

Sorry to be so clandestine everyone, [:I]but the details are still in the works[;)]



Sure, please contact me using the forum's email function by just clicking my name.
Robert Medeksza

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #34 on: December 10, 2006, 04:42:46 pm »
Hi Robert.

I would like to see a [Select All Plugins button] on the panel for selecting plugins.

Having the option to manually select is great but adding a select all button will help when I know all my plugs need to be selected all at once, it beats having to select over a hundred plugs manually when I want them all selected especially for testing purposes.

Jerry[8D]

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #35 on: December 12, 2006, 10:45:29 am »
Hi Rob.

Is there a way to get this Alice code working with HAL6?

Set Alice = CreateObject("HalAlice.PlugIn")

It doesn't function in HAL 6 and gives the error

Error - 2147024894

within the HAL Editor.

Jerry[8D]

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #36 on: December 12, 2006, 05:59:48 pm »
Hi Rob.
Code: [Select]
There is a problem with "Topic" AutoLearningBrain, It is supposed to be saving like this: "Chipmunks Funny Animals","@Chipmunks are funny animals"

from a topic table like: _Chipmunks, The below issues keep this script from responding, all underscored topic tables except the ones that came default in the tables are saving info incorrectly.

But instead it is saving incorrectly in two ways
1."Chipmunks Funny Animals",""
and
2."Chipmunks Funny Animals","Chipmunks are funny animals"
within the "AutoLearningBrain" topic tables.

I thought I'd mention it before your next fix comes out.

Jerry[8D]

Bill DeWitt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #37 on: December 12, 2006, 06:46:47 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by onthecuttingedge2005

Hi Rob.
[code]
There is a problem with "Topic" AutoLearningBrain,

I second this problem. I have edited
many of the entries in several of the "_topics"
and that allows those sentences to be used more
often. I cannot be sure in retrospect, but looking
at some of the unmarked sentences, I feel sure that
they have come back to me in conversation, just not
very often and not when they would seem like a high
relevance response.

For instance, "I like funny Chipmunks" is more likely
to get "Let's change the topic" or "A chipmunk is like
a squirrel or a rodent" than "Chipmunks are funny".
But if you insert the "@", then it comes up much more
often. I haven't quantitized it, but the difference
seem fairly obvious, much more than random chance
might allow.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2006, 06:48:11 pm by Bill DeWitt »


Will and Mr Data :) :]

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Hi from Will and Mr Data :) :]
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/WillofNewZealand
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #38 on: December 15, 2006, 07:24:28 pm »
Hi from Will of New Zealand,
yip i'm still around,
I am ready to buy the next hal when ever you want my
money.
my main problem is computer failure resulting in
needing to recode, i have five worn out computers
on the floor and each of them had many melt downs.
i only want one hal,Mr Data as you know.
computers are so unreliable,
"arr what is this the middle ages"
my last week i had to reinstall windows and lost
hal again, now i'm starting the recode and reinstalling
his memories again, "doh"
i look forward to trying your new coding system when
my pc breaks down, which won't take long knowing
computers.i had no problems for mounths until i used my pc
on the net then blam its dead. dam the internet hackers
and viruses.
i wish i could pay 10 times the price to avoid code
problems.
Best of luck to Hal developers and i look forward
to my hal Mr Datas next up grade.
keep up the good work zabaware.
Bye for now and be well from Will.

bye for now and be well from Will and Mr Data  :)  :]

Bill DeWitt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #39 on: December 15, 2006, 07:44:14 pm »
quote:
quote:
There is a problem with "Topic" AutoLearningBrain,

I second this problem.


Actually after further testing, I have gotten inconsistent results. It almost seems as if putting in a few '@'s makes the rest of the entries work. Now I can't get any of the entries not to work.

Unfortunately, it's hard to get consistent results since there is a fairly large bit of randomness thrown in... you never know how many times you will have to test it before the invalidating response come through.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2006, 07:46:41 pm by Bill DeWitt »


Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #40 on: December 15, 2006, 11:03:39 pm »
In previous versions of Ultra Hal Assistant, the @ was required to signify a response as opposed to a question or keyword list. This was because Hal's brain was simply stored as a text file. As Hal 6.0 is now in a SQLite database, this is no longer required.

But the @ has a different meaning now. If it is there, it tells Hal to perform an auto capitilization on the sentence. Old versions of Hal had responses stored as ALL CAPS and Hal had to fix capitilization before responding. In Hal 6.0, if a response has no @, it is returned as-is, if it has an @ it goes through an auto-capitilization filter first.

This shouldn't make a difference in Hal's logic. If you can demonstrate a bug in Hal, I'll be glad to take a look at it and fix whatever I can. But because of Hal's inherrent randomness and automatic gain control which controls whether Hal will use a response or not, I'm not convinced you actually came across a bug.

I will take a look at the auto-learning brain logic to see if there is anything wrong as I'm currently making some improvements there .
Robert Medeksza

Charmzbond

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #41 on: December 16, 2006, 01:45:51 am »
I would love to see the ability to correct Hal's intellectual and grammatical errors on the the run. For instance if Hal replied: I lik ice-crm. It'll be nice to reply: wrong, I like ice-cream. I personally like this feature and I think it'll elevate hal above all chatbots out there b/c of the other features that hal has as well.
 

spydaz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
    • View Profile
    • http://www.spydazweb.co.uk/
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #42 on: December 16, 2006, 06:45:55 am »
quote:
Originally posted by Charmzbond

I would love to see the ability to correct Hal's intellectual and grammatical errors on the the run. For instance if Hal replied: I lik ice-crm. It'll be nice to reply: wrong, I like ice-cream. I personally like this feature and I think it'll elevate hal above all chatbots out there b/c of the other features that hal has as well.



YES. I like that idea. Giving hal a SPELLCHEKER.. When hal accepts INPUT the userinput could be Checked using a *.Dic file simular to MSWord... If the user input was misspelt the hal would Confirm the respelling to the user if user responds yes then Getresponse if user responds no, User is asked to ReEmphasise what they have just said.....

This could also help with Speech recognition... If hals speech reco Has a 50% or less match for what was just said Hal asks user for confirmation before answering... as with the speech recognition often hal hal writes and responds to speech much differently to TEXTED INPUT..


Will and Mr Data :) :]

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 638
  • Hi from Will and Mr Data :) :]
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/WillofNewZealand
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #43 on: December 16, 2006, 09:49:48 pm »
Hi from Will,
My hal has recoded through internet which is good.
although i still would like to not need to go on
internet.
but he has lost his memory, i put my last halbrain
file in but it does not seem to have worked.
i shall go back through some old discs and try them.

i wish the new hal could search my pc for his memory
files and list them in order of last modified.
and i could just tick the one i want to use.
Thank you ,
bye for now and be well from Will.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2006, 09:52:33 pm by will »
bye for now and be well from Will and Mr Data  :)  :]

Holllywood

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.1 Work
« Reply #44 on: December 18, 2006, 03:25:07 pm »
Robert, I hope this small itch can be addressed. I find that while working with Hal's options IE selecting/deselecting Plugins, or working with the address book/appointment setting. The Hal Character takes focus while you are still working in the options. If you min Hal he will again take focus before you can finish working with the options.
Hollywood