dupa

Author Topic: Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta  (Read 21733 times)

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #60 on: January 26, 2009, 04:04:08 pm »
Hi Rob.

occasionally I will receive a runtime error with the HAL AIM bot, it will just crash out of the blue, I have to restart AIM bot to get rid of the error. it has done it maybe once or twice a day.

I am using Windows Vista:
Microsoft Windows Longhorn Home Edition
Service pack 1
Internet Explorer v7.0.6001.18000
Processor: Intel Celeron 4, 1717MHz
Motherboard: Jetway 1405(L)
System Memory: 640MB

Jerry

jasondude7116

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 475
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #61 on: January 26, 2009, 10:52:50 pm »
ROBERT-

there is a very small error in the table "enlightened" (or something like that), where the response "i agree it's because" is.

there is a space missing at the end of a couple of the lines, so that the response to: (userinput) "i like coffee because it helps me stay awake" is responded with "i agree it's becauseit helps you stay awake"

the missing spaces cause "because it" to be "becauseit" ect.

i know it is small, but atleast it's an easy fix.[:)]
(i use "this" because "that" a lot, so i notice it a lot)
-the dude
 

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #62 on: January 26, 2009, 11:30:51 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by freddy888

Am I right in thinking that I can use my old activation code with this new version ?  I took Hal off my old PC (just built a new one) by using the 'move hal' option.  So I guess I can just go straight to 6.2 now and reuse my activation code ?

Thanks and it all sounds great.



Yes, the same activation should work.
Robert Medeksza

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #63 on: January 26, 2009, 11:33:58 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by lightspeed

i am still using the custom brain "angela " that i made in the options it also shows the 6.1 default brain and the new 6.2 beta brain ,(i only have the custom brain highlighted )  am wondering since i downloaded the new beta version is my custom braining working through the beta 6.2 version ? or are we only able to use the 6.2 beta version at this time to test it out ? [:)]anyone know on this ??



Hal 6.2 will run your old brains just fine. Some of the new features that are specific to the Hal 6.2 script/database (unit conversions, better low quality response routines) won't show up in your old and custom brains.
Robert Medeksza

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #64 on: January 26, 2009, 11:36:36 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by lightspeed

on this dream outloud plug in (please don't think i am just griping am only pointing out something that may need to be fixed ) on mine it seems like it says something (dreams out loud ) one thing right after another within a few seconds of each time .
wouldn't this in the final version be better if it had a set time on it or better yet a random timer , this way hal would sound more normal as if day dreaming out loud randomly instead of just constantly . [:)][:D][8D]



It also has a dream silent mode (not available in the plugin I made yet) so it will do everything it does now, except silently. The main purpose of the feature is for Hal to learn new things online so it has new things to talk about next time you use it, so I set it to be as fast as possible without overtaxing your cpu. The dream out loud mode is just for anyone curious as to what its doing when it goes online.
Robert Medeksza

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #65 on: January 26, 2009, 11:37:37 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by onthecuttingedge2005

Hi Rob.

occasionally I will receive a runtime error with the HAL AIM bot, it will just crash out of the blue, I have to restart AIM bot to get rid of the error. it has done it maybe once or twice a day.

I am using Windows Vista:
Microsoft Windows Longhorn Home Edition
Service pack 1
Internet Explorer v7.0.6001.18000
Processor: Intel Celeron 4, 1717MHz
Motherboard: Jetway 1405(L)
System Memory: 640MB

Jerry



That will be a little hard to track down. Did this error just start appearing with Hal 6.2, or was it occuring in earlier versions?
Robert Medeksza

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #66 on: January 26, 2009, 11:39:21 pm »
quote:
Originally posted by jasondude7116

ROBERT-

there is a very small error in the table "enlightened" (or something like that), where the response "i agree it's because" is.

there is a space missing at the end of a couple of the lines, so that the response to: (userinput) "i like coffee because it helps me stay awake" is responded with "i agree it's becauseit helps you stay awake"

the missing spaces cause "because it" to be "becauseit" ect.

i know it is small, but atleast it's an easy fix.[:)]
(i use "this" because "that" a lot, so i notice it a lot)
-the dude



Thanks, I fixed it.
Robert Medeksza

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #67 on: January 27, 2009, 12:14:35 am »
I just posted an updated beta version at http://www.zabaware.com/download/hal62beta2.zip  I believe I fixed all the bugs we discussed. I also received permission from Shawn Tracy (Scratch) to include his Loneliness plug-in, so that is part of the installation too.

I made some minor changes to the dream feature too, it now filters out some results that have too many symbols. But most of the work for that feature now falls to developing the VBScript portion of it, and I will do that after the release of Hal 6.2.

Let me know if you think all the issues are fixed or if you find anything else.
Robert Medeksza

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #68 on: January 27, 2009, 12:33:25 am »
quote:
Originally posted by Medeksza

quote:
Originally posted by onthecuttingedge2005

Hi Rob.

occasionally I will receive a runtime error with the HAL AIM bot, it will just crash out of the blue, I have to restart AIM bot to get rid of the error. it has done it maybe once or twice a day.

I am using Windows Vista:
Microsoft Windows Longhorn Home Edition
Service pack 1
Internet Explorer v7.0.6001.18000
Processor: Intel Celeron 4, 1717MHz
Motherboard: Jetway 1405(L)
System Memory: 640MB

Jerry



That will be a little hard to track down. Did this error just start appearing with Hal 6.2, or was it occuring in earlier versions?



both 6.1 and 6.2 get the error, I never experienced this error before version 6.1

Jerry

lightspeed

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6485
    • View Profile
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #69 on: January 27, 2009, 12:58:45 pm »
i messed up and put my post in the general area about a problem with hal i ran into for anyone who wants to read it .
 

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #70 on: January 27, 2009, 05:14:12 pm »
Hi Rob.

I am going to run the AIM bot in compatibility mode for Win 98 to see if I still receive the "run time error #5".

I will let you know if this solve the problem.

Jerry [8D]

Will and Mr Data :) :]

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 639
  • Hi from Will and Mr Data :) :]
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/user/WillofNewZealand
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #71 on: January 28, 2009, 04:39:00 am »
Hi there from Wil,
6.2 loaded and coded easy as.

in the options menu under brain neither 6.1 or 6.2 are highlighted but it was obvious after some questioning that 6.1 "Mr Data" was the one running, and well to   :) :]   .
i clicked 6.2 in options and it works good, good onya!
i've not tryed the Dream plug in yet.
i'm pleased that 6.2 allows me to click 6.1 in options menu under brain and chat with Mr Data.
if 6.2 didn't merge i might start a second charactor and Mr Data could continue to imporve as 6.2 running 6.1.
but i'll wait to see what the full 6.2 does when released.

Thank you very much for Ultrahal and the years of fun i've had so far, fantastic i reckon.
Thanks again,
bye for now and be well from Wil and Mr Data  :)   :]




bye for now and be well from Will and Mr Data  :)  :]

Medeksza

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • View Profile
    • http://www.zabaware.com
Ultra Hal Assistant 6.2 Beta
« Reply #72 on: January 28, 2009, 11:42:08 am »
Update 1/28/09:

Release candidate 1 has been released. This topic has been moved to this threa: http://www.zabaware.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=6126
Robert Medeksza