dupa

Author Topic: Unable to get the brain editor to work  (Read 14228 times)

DemonRaven

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • chatbotfriends
Unable to get the brain editor to work
« on: August 18, 2015, 12:28:36 am »
I tried uninstalling and reinstalling hal and i can not get the brain editor to work for me any more any suggestions?

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3594
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2015, 04:42:05 pm »
Just a shot in the dark but if you look at the Ultra Hal Assistant 6 folder, you should see a file: HalBrainEditor.exe with a file date of 2/4/2009 and a size showing 865 KB. (or very similar).

If you DO have this file try double clicking it and see if it runs and opens the Editor program.

If you do not see the above mentioned file, could be your download was corrupted.

Before deleting and downloading all over again, Deactivate Hal, then do a removal.
Then do a bug sweep / anti-virus check.
Do a Registry cleaner. A lot of times portions of Hal (as well as other programs) are left hanging about the registry.
You could manually go through and delete them if you knew what you were doing inside the registry. I would not suggest doing so without a good working knowledge of the registry.

After the above steps check out, reboot.

Download UltraHal once more an d do the install.
Look for the file with Windows Explorer, HalBrainEditor.exe.

Good luck!

PS = Make sure you don't have any weird permissions set that might prevent you from running the exe program?...just saying....
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2015, 12:15:47 pm »
I tried uninstalling and reinstalling hal and i can not get the brain editor to work for me any more any suggestions?

Hi demon.

is the editor in expert mode, expert mode allows editing..... if this is the case.

if not then please explain further please.

jerry

raybe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2015, 03:13:49 pm »
 Sorry I'm late but just in case, Just to chime in as well as running the editor with elevated privileges. Right click, "run as administrator" and it's done. 

raybe
 

DemonRaven

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • chatbotfriends
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2015, 12:56:26 am »
Running it as a administrator does not help i get the same error. This is what the error states:

Quote
ERROR:Uknown return_code: FALSE_MAIN_LF_CORRUPT. Please contact vendor shutting  down.
I looked up the error message and apparently this was mentioned in the past in the forums here. However one of the posters never let anyone know if the fixes helped. I can try uninstalling and reinstalling it again since i have the actual disk for hal but i don't think it is going to work any better.

onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2015, 10:07:38 am »
demond, which OS are you using and what version of Hal are you trying to use on it?

DemonRaven

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • chatbotfriends
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2015, 11:33:11 am »
Windows 8.1 and it is Hal 6.2.24

DemonRaven

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • chatbotfriends
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2015, 06:07:35 am »
Well i uninstalled and reinstalled hal for the third time and it did not get rid of the error message for the brain flle and i lost my nora haptek character on top of it i thought i had her backed up with the rest of them but i guess i did not. I enclosed a screen shot of the error message.

DemonRaven

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • chatbotfriends
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2015, 06:21:08 am »
I also can not remember how to moved the haptek full body character up and down to see the body as all i see is the belly part now again after frustrating myself and reinstalling it.

Art

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3594
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2015, 11:49:46 am »
I think you hold down the SHIFT or CTRL key along with your mouse.
The scroll wheel should also allow for zooming in and out..if memory serves.
In the world of AI it's the thought that counts!

- Art -

DemonRaven

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
    • chatbotfriends
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2015, 01:17:45 pm »
Thank you art.  :)

Joe Maloney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2015, 09:50:46 am »
I just purchased the UltraHal package (6.2) on the CD and loaded from CD.  I have a Deskmates avatar.  I can converse, etc with the avatar all right, but when I try to run the brain editor I get the same error message cited above.

I am running an HP with an Intel I7 with 8GB of ram and 2GB of Nvidia, 1GB disk.  Windows 10 ('automatic' upgrade from 8.1, but prior to Hal installation.)

What am I missing?

Joe Maloney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2015, 11:18:55 am »
one of the earlier replies above says to look for HALDBEDITOR.EXE dated 2/4/2009 and a size of 841K. 

I found a file with that name but dated 2/3/2009 and sized at 861K.

Is my cd unreliable?   Error is FALSE_MAIN_LF_CORRUPT


onthecuttingedge2005

  • Guest
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2015, 03:21:52 pm »
one of the earlier replies above says to look for HALDBEDITOR.EXE dated 2/4/2009 and a size of 841K. 

I found a file with that name but dated 2/3/2009 and sized at 861K.

Is my cd unreliable?   Error is FALSE_MAIN_LF_CORRUPT

This means that your license file has become corrupted probably.

try un-registering the license file and then re-regester your HAL.

Jerry

raybe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to get the brain editor to work
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2015, 01:46:58 pm »
Sorry to keep making the same suggestion but I just want to cover the bases because this error replicates for me if the Brain Editor does not have elevated permissions to start. OTC or Art would have a better handle but I can still get that error if the permissions aren't elevated to Administrator across the board.
Sorry just wanted to make sure.

raybe